D E C banner
D E C banner


The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has added a link to a translation service developed by Microsoft Inc., entitled Bing Translator, as a convenience to visitors to the DEC website who speak languages other than English.

Additional information can be found at DEC's Language Assistance Page.

ENB - Region 7 Notices 12/24/2008

Public Notice

Public Meeting Notice

Counties: Cortland, Tioga, and Tompkins

Lead Agency: New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYS DEC)

Project Title: Release of the Virgil Mountain and Tri-County Uplands Draft Unit Management Plans/Public Meeting

Contact Person: Richard Pancoe
Address: NYS DEC - Cortland Sub Office
1285 Fisher Ave.
Cortland, New York 13045

Phone: (607) 753-3095 ext. 217

Project Location: Towns of Harford, Lapeer, and Virgil in Cortland County, Town of Richford in Tioga County, and Town of Caroline in Tompkins County

Meeting Information: The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation will hold a public meeting on Wednesday, January 14, 2009, from 6:30 to 9:00 p.m. at the Forum Room, Tompkins-Cortland Community College (TC3) located at 170 North Street, Dryden, New York 13053 to accept public comments on two draft Unit Management Plans (UMPs); Virgil Mountain and Tri-County Uplands. Persons are invited to come to the meeting to express their ideas and opinions about the plans. The public meeting will begin with an open house format, which will allow the public to provide written comments. There will also be an opportunity to offer verbal comments. Those unable to attend the meeting may submit comments to the contact person by mail or email: hcdedric@gw.dec.state.ny.us for the Virgil Mountain UMP and jmclancy@gw.dec.state.ny.us for the Tri-County Uplands UMP. Copies of the plans are posted on the NYS DEC website at: http://www.dec.ny.gov/lands/4979.html. The plans are also available, for public review at local libraries, local town offices, Cortland and Tioga County Planning offices and the following DEC offices:

• NYS DEC - Region 7 Headquarters, 615 Erie Boulevard West, Syracuse, New York
• NYS DEC - Region 7 Sub-office, 1285 Fisher Avenue, Cortland, New York

Limited copies are available in print form and digital format on compact discs from the Cortland office and may be requested by calling: (607) 753-3095.

Comments on the plans will be accepted until February 13, 2009.

Project Description and Locations: The UMPs cover five State Forests that encompass 10,269 acres in Cortland, Tioga, and Tompkins counties. The Virgil Mountain UMP includes the James D. Kennedy State Forest and the Tuller Hill State Forest. The Tri-County Uplands UMP includes Robinson Hollow State Forest, Andersen Hill State Forest, and Potato Hill State Forest. The draft Unit Management Plans have been developed to address management activities on these State Forests. The proposed UMPs will help maintain healthy, sustainable, and biologically diverse ecosystems for fish and wildlife, while providing continued opportunities for forest product sales, recreational use, environmental education and research. New recreational facilities proposed in the plans includes the construction of three parking areas and an ATV trail loop for people with accessibility needs. Informational kiosk installations and production of brochures are also planned.

Negative Declaration

Tompkins County - Tompkins County, as lead agency, has determined that the proposed Adoption of the Energy and Greenhouse Gas Emissions Element as an Amendment to the Tompkins County Comprehensive Plan will not have a significant adverse environmental impact. The action involves the adoption of an Energy and Greenhouse Gas Emissions Element to the Tompkins County Comprehensive Plan which includes Policies and Action Items that will be used to guide County program development and decision making regarding energy and greenhouse gas emissions. The project is located throughout Tompkins County, New York.

Contact: Katherine Borgella, Tompkins County, 121 East Court Street, Ithaca, NY 14850, Phone: (607) 274-5560, E-mail: kborgella@tompkins-co.org.

Notice of Acceptance of Final EIS

Tompkins County - The City of Ithaca Planning and Development Board, as lead agency, has accepted a Final Environmental Impact Statement on the proposed Cornell University Paul Milstein Hall & Central Avenue Parking Garage. A copy of the Draft EIS and the Final EIS may be obtained from or viewed at the following:

• The contact person listed below.
• Website: http://www.milsteinhall.com
• Tompkins County Public Library
• Olin, Mann and Sibley Libraries at the Cornell University Ithaca, NY Campus

The action involves a 59,000 square foot building that will unite Rand Hall and Sibley Hall and that is cantilevered over University Avenue. The building will include studio, gallery, meeting and exhibition space and a 275 seat auditorium. Applicant is also proposing to construct a parking garage, on the 450 x 75 foot site adjacent to the proposed Milstein Hall project at the location of the existing surface parking lot. The garage will provide 199 parking spaces in three levels of parking, one surface level accessible from University Avenue and two underground levels accessible from Central Avenue. The project is located on the Central Campus area of Cornell University in the City of Ithaca, New York. It is bordered by University Avenue to the north; to Rand Hall to the east; and the Arts Quad, Sibley & Tjaden Halls to the south; and Central Avenue to the west.

Contact: Lisa Nicholas, City of Ithaca, 108 East Green Street, Ithaca, NY 14850, Phone: (607) 274-6550.

  • Contact for this Page
  • Division of Environmental Permits
    625 Broadway, 4th Floor
    Albany, NY 12233-1750
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions