
 

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation 
Sportsman Education Program 

Permission Form 
Required for minors to handle and discharge firearms during a hunter education course 

 
Parents or Legal Guardians of Students Under 16 Years Old: 
Fill out and sign the form below. Your written permission is required by law to allow students under 16  
 years old to handle and discharge firearms during a hunter education course.  
 
The minimum age to take a hunter education course is 11 years old.  
The minimum age to purchase a license is 12 years old (licensed adult supervision is required until age 16).  
 
About the Hunter Education Course: 
 Trained instructors, certified by the Department of Environmental Conservation, provide lessons in 
the safe handling of firearms. Most courses include shooting exercises. Students under 12 years old are 
allowed to handle only air guns, laser guns and inert (training aid) firearms. 
 In addition to firearms safety, the hunter education course teaches basic outdoor skills and 
responsible hunting techniques. Emphasis is on helping students become people who will:  respect people, 
wildlife, and nature; be safe, responsible and ethical hunters; appreciate the role of humans as a part of 
nature; and support conservation.  
 Parents are urged to participate with their child in completing homework assignments. Discuss the 
lessons together and help the student find the correct answers to the quiz questions, without actually 
providing the answers. 
 
 
 
 

 

Bring this completed form to your first Hunter Education class 

Note to instructors:  This form is your proof that instructors are authorized by the parent or guardian of the student whose name appears on this form to 
supervise that student in firearms handling and shooting exercises in your courses. Refer to your Sportsman Education Program Instructor Manual for rules 
regarding student age requirements and use of firearms by minors in courses. Keep this form for at least one year after the completion of the course. 

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation 
Sportsman Education Program 

Permission to Handle and Discharge Firearms 
 
 
I, _____________________________________________________________am the parent or legal guardian 

(Print name of parent or legal guardian) 

 
of________________________________________________________, whose date of birth is____∕___∕____ 

(Print name of student)                                                                                                                                                          (Print date of birth) 

and I hereby give my permission for him or her to possess a rifle, shotgun, or air gun for the purpose of 
loading and firing under the immediate supervision, guidance, and instruction of a hunter education 
instructor certified by the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, during a hunter 
education course. 
 
 
Signature_____________________________________Date____________Telephone Number____________ 
                                 (Parent or legal guardian sign)                                                                           (Print today’s date) 
Revised 11/15 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 


