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Required for Minors to Attend a Hunter Education Course

Parents and Legal Guardians:
Please fill out and sign the form below.  Your written permission is required by law to allow people under 16

years old to attend the hunter education course and handle firearms.
Minimum age for course ~ 11 years old. There are exceptions for hunting in other states where hunting is legal

for younger people.
Minimum age for license ~ 12 years old.  (Adult supervision required until age 16)

About the Course:
Trained instructors certified by the Department of Environmental Conservation supervise lessons in the safe handling

of firearms, and most courses include shooting exercises.  Students under 12 years old are allowed to handle only air guns.
In addition to firearms safety, the hunter education course teaches basic outdoor skills and responsible hunting tech-

niques.  Emphasis is on helping students become people who will: • Respect people, wildlife, and nature;  • Be safe,
responsible and ethical hunters;  • Appreciate the role of humans as a part of nature; and  • support conservation.

Parents are urged to participate with youngsters in completing homework assignments.  Discuss the lessons, and help
students find the correct anwers to quiz questions, without actually giving the answers away.

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation, Sportsman Education Program

Permission to Handle and Shoot Firearms

I, _________________________________________________________ am the parent or legal guardian
(Print name of parent or legal guardian above.)             (Circle one choice above.)

of ___________________________________________________, whose date of birth is _____________

and I hereby give my permission for him or her to possess a rifle, shotgun, or airgun for the purpose
of loading and firing under the immediate supervision, guidance, and instruction of a certified
hunter education instructor or assistant instructor certified in hunter education by the New York
State Department of Environmental Conservation, during a hunter education course.

Signature_______________________________________  Date ______________  Telephone Number__________________

(Print name of student above.)                       (Print birth date above.)

(Parent or legal guardian sign above.)              (Print today’s date above.)                                           (Phone number above.)

DETACH AND RETURN THIS COMPLETED FORM

NOTE TO INSTRUCTORS:  This form is your proof that instructors are authorized by the parent or guardian of the student whose name appears on this form to supervise
that student in firearms handling and shooting exercises in your courses.  Refer to your Sportsman Education Instructor Policies and Procedures Manual for rules regarding
student age requirements and use of firearms by minors in courses.  Keep this form for at least one year after the completion of the course.



Course Lists & Hunting Info on the Internet!
www.dec.ny.gov
(Use the "Subject Index A-Z"; click on "H" to find "Hunter Education")

1. Assume every gun to be loaded.
2. Control the Muzzle - safe direction.
3. Keep your finger off the trigger

until ready to shoot.
4. Be sure of your target and beyond.

Assume Control from
Trigger to Target...and Beyond
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Control where others shoot!

To find  Lists of Courses in your area, see...
•  local newspapers "outdoors" section
•  stores that sell hunting supplies
•  rod & gun clubs
•  your computer!

New York State Sportsman Education is a Federal Aid Project, funded in
part by  Federal Excise Taxes on your purchases of hunting equipment.

SPORTING
GOODS

Outdoor Opportunities
for Youngsters

People need licenses to fish, hunt, or trap.
Courses are required for hunting and trapping.
There are minimum age limits for hunting.

Fishing.  No course required.
No age limits.  People 16 years old or
over who fish or help another person fish
in the State’s fresh waters must generally be licensed.

Hunting. License required.  Minimum age 12.
• Basic Hunter Education course required.

(Minimum 10 hours.)
Junior Hunting License - for people

12 through 15 years old.  Small game hunting only.
• Parent or legal guardian must  appear in person

with applicant to co-sign license.
• Adult permission and supervision required.  See

details and permission form in this brochure and
  rules in Hunting and Trapping Regulations Guide.

Bowhunting.  All licensed hunters can use
bows and arrows to hunt small game.  To bowhunt
deer and bear a special Bowhunter Education Course,
and in most cases, a special bowhunting license is
also required.  Minimum age 14 years.
Junior Archery License - for people 14 and 15

years old to bowhunt deer and bear.
• BOTH basic Hunter Ed AND separate

Bowhunter Education courses required.
• Parent or legal guardian must  appear in

person with applicant to co-sign license.
• Adult permission and supervision required.

See rules in Hunting and Trapping Regulations Guide.

Trapping.  Trapping license required (any age).
• Special Trapper Education Course required.
Junior Trapping License for

trappers under 16 years old.
• Parent or legal guardian or adult

designated in writing by parent or
legal guardian must appear in person
with applicant to co-sign license.

• Adult supervision recommended.

The Junior Small GameThe Junior Small GameThe Junior Small GameThe Junior Small GameThe Junior Small Game
Hunting License ~ RULESHunting License ~ RULESHunting License ~ RULESHunting License ~ RULESHunting License ~ RULES
The Junior Small Game Hunting License is a learner’s
permit for hunters who are at least 12 years old, and
less than 16 years old when the license is purchased.

Requirements:
• Hunter Education course certificate.
• Proof of Age of the new hunter

(birth certificate).
• Parent or Legal Guardian must go with

youngsters to co-sign the license.
• Price: $5.00 (residents and non-residents).

When hunting...
Junior Hunters may hunt for small game only (as of
2007 -- check newer regulations) and can hunt only
with adult supervision, as listed below:
A 12 or 13 year old...
must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian or
relative over age 21 who has a hunting (small game) or
sportsman license.  The relative must also have written
permission of the parent or legal guardian.
A 14 or 15 year old...
must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian or
any person over 18, who has a small game or sports-
man license.  This person must also have written
permission of the parent or legal guardian.
“Accompanied” means that the licensed adult hunter
must:
1. Watch the minor at all times.
2. Communicate with the minor, providing

advice and assistance to protect the minor,
and  prevent unsafe or illegal actions.

Upon turning 16 years old the Junior Hunting License
entitles the bearer to hunt small game as an adult until
the next license year.  To hunt big game, a 16 year-old
must obtain an adult small & big game hunting license.
Adult supervision for big game hunters is required
during the first year of big game hunting.

See Current Hunting & Trapping Regulations
Guide (at license outlets) for latest information and
special hunting oppurtunities for young people.


