Turkey Hunting

General Regulations

- You may buy only one turkey permit per year,
which includes three carcass tags, two for
spring and one for fall.

- If you have filled your bag limit, you may call
turkeys for another hunter, but you may not
carry a bow, crossbow, or firearm. You may
call turkeys to aid another hunter only if you
are licensed to hunt wild turkey in New York
and have a valid turkey permit.

- If you have taken a turkey that is unfit for con-
sumption, authorized DEC staff may issue a
special permit to take another. You will have
to surrender the carcass. Call your wildlife
or law enforcement office (see page 6).

Turkey Hunters Needed
for Grouse Survey

DEC is seeking spring turkey hunters
to participate in a survey to help moni-
tor grouse populations.

For more information:

« Email us at wildlife@dec.ny.gov and
type “Grouse Drumming Survey” in
the subject line, or

Call 518-402-8883, or

Visit www.dec.ny.gov and search
for "drumming survey."

Manner of Taking

« You must carry your hunting license and tur-

key permit while you hunt.

You may hunt with a bow or crossbow; how-

ever, crossbows may only be used by hunters

14 or older and may not be used to take wild

turkeys in Westchester or Suffolk counties.

You may hunt with a shotgun or handgun only

when using shot no larger than #2 and no

smaller than #9.

You may not take a turkey with a rifle or air

gun, or with a handgun firing a bullet.

You may use a muzzleloading shotgun.

You may not hunt with a dog during the spring

season. You may hunt with a dog during the

fall season.

You may not use bait to hunt turkey.

« You may not use an electronic calling or ampli-
fying device to locate or hunt turkeys during
the open season.

« You may use decoys. You may not use a live
decoy when turkey hunting.

« A scope of any type is allowed.

Reward

Tagging, Possession,
and Reporting

- Immediately after taking a wild turkey, you
must fill out the appropriate carcass tag in
ink, mark or cut out the date and month of
kill, sign the back, and attach it to the carcass.
The carcass tag must stay attached to the
turkey carcass until it is prepared for eating.
You may give your turkey to another person.
« You must attach a tag with the following infor-

mation to the turkey carcass:

» Your name

» Your address

» Your hunting license number

» Turkey permit carcass tag number

» The recipient’s name

» The recipient’s address
« You mustreportyour harvest within 7 days via

phone (1-866-GAMERPT), online (www.dec.

ny.gov), or through our HuntFishNY mobile

app (see page 8).

.

Protect wild turkeys against illegal hunting. Their future depends on you!

The National Wild Turkey Federation is offering a $200 reward to anyone giving infor-
mation and testimony leading to the arrest and conviction of anyone illegally hunting
or killing a wild turkey in New York State. 1-844-DEC-ECOS
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Turkey Hunting

Fall Turkey Season

- You may take a bird of either sex.

« There is one carcass tag for the fall season
and it may be used in any fall turkey hunting
zone. Immediately after taking a turkey, you
must fill out the carcass tag in ink and attach
it to the bird.

« If you take a turkey, save one of its legs. You
will receive instructions about what to do with
the leg whenyou reportyour harvest. The legs
are used for age and sex information.

Spring Turkey Season

« Inthe spring, you may take two bearded birds.

You may only take one bird per day.

Fill out the carcass tag and attach it to the bird.

« You do not need to save and send in turkey
legsinthe spring. You do need to take careful
spur, beard, and weight measurements for
harvest reporting.

1. Spur measurements: Spurs should be
measured from the tip of the spur to the
base of the spur, where it emerges from
the scaly part of the leg. Measure to the
nearest % inch. Do not measure to the
forward edge of the leg, only to the base
of the spur.

2. Beard measurements: Beards should
be measured from the tip of the beard
to the base, where it emerges from the
skin. Put the end of your ruler against the
base of the beard and extend the beard
along the body of the ruler. Measure to
the nearest % inch.

3. Record the weight of the turkey to the
nearest pound.

.

A successful hunt for Mandy W., posing with
her dogs Boone and Gannet after her hunt.

Fall and Spring
Turkey Seasons

Fall Season 2023
Hunting Hours: Sunrise to Sunset

Season Dates:
[ Oct.1-0ct 14
[ ] Oct. 21-MNov. 3
=77 Nov. 18 - Dec. 1
[ I Closed

1 bird of either sex

Statewide Bag Limit:

Youth Turkey Season 2024

Spring Season 2024
Hunting Hours: 1/2 hour before Sunrise to Noon

Season Dates:

May 1 - May 31
in all open areas

[ IClosed

Statewide Bag

2 bearded birds,
no more than 1
in WMU 1C

Hunting Hours:
1/2 hour before Sunrise to Noon

Statewide Bag Limit:
1 bearded bird

Season Dates:
April 20 and 21, 2024

Open Areas:
Same as Regular Spring Season

Turkey Hunting Tips

Successful turkey hunters sit and call.

Don’t wear red, white, blue, or black.

Most turkey hunting injuries happen when
one hunter stalks another hunter.

DON’T TRY TO STALK TURKEY!

Assume anything that sounds like a
turkey is a human (calls, footsteps).
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If you see another hunter:
« Don’t move, wave, or nod.
« Don’t make turkey or animal sounds.

« Do speak up clearly, saying “STOP.”

If you see a turkey:

Be 100% sure of your target and beyond. To
prevent another hunter from mistaking you
for a gobbler, avoid using a turkey reaper fan.

49
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Turkey Hunting

Spring Youth Hunt
Eligible hunters are 12—15 years of age and hold a Junior Hunting License
and a Turkey Permit.

All youth hunters must be accompanied by an adult, as required by
law for a Junior Hunting License (see pages 36 and 37).

The accompanying adult must have a current hunting license and
Turkey Permit. He/she may assist the youth hunter (including calling), but
may not carry a firearm, crossbow or bow, or kill or attempt to kill a wild
turkey during the youth hunt. Crossbows may only be used by licensees
who are 14 years of age or older.

The bag limit for the youth hunt is one bearded bird. This bird becomes
part of the youth’s regular season bag limit of two bearded birds. A second
bird may be taken beginning May 1.

All other wild turkey hunting regulations remain in effect.

Why Do We Have a May 1 Opener?

Research has found that the optimal start date for the spring
season is the median date of incubation (when about half of
hens are on nests). In New York and much of the Northeast this

is around May 1st. A May 1 opener provides the best opportu-
nity to pursue gobblers when they are vocal and responsive to
calling while minimizing disruption to reproduction. An earlier
season start can disrupt breeding behavior and nesting, nega-
tively affecting long-term turkey abundance and hunt quality.

A proud father moment with Autym D. after a successful turkey hunt.

BE TICK SAFE! Weara long- Wearahat

; . sleeved shirt.
Ticks can spread disease, but Spray tick
not all bites will make you sick. repellent on
Deer ticks may carry Lyme clothes/shoes.
disease, the most common Wear long Wearlich
tick-borne disease in New York. :mtss:gged coﬁ:eldgcltothing

to seeticks.
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Deer Ticks Actual Size

QUESTIONS?

e Contact the NYS Department of Health or your healthcare provider if you
have symptoms of fever, rash, body aches, or fatigue after a tick bite.

e See www.health.ny.gov/diseases/communicable/lyme/

TICK REMOVAL

e Using tweezers, grab the tick as close to
your skin as possible.

e Pull upward with steady, even pressure.

e Clean the bite area with soap and water,
rubbing alcohol, or hydrogen peroxide.

.
e

Check yourself, your children, and pets for ticks daily.
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