
General Information
•	 You may buy only one turkey permit per year.
•	 If you have filled your bag limit, you may call

turkeys for another hunter, but you may not
carry a bow, crossbow, or firearm. 

•	 If you have taken a turkey that is unfit for con-
sumption, authorized DEC staff may issue a
special permit to take another. You will have
to surrender the carcass. Call your wildlife
or law enforcement office (see page 6).

•	 You may call turkeys to aid another hunter only
if you are licensed to hunt wild turkey in New 
York and have a valid turkey permit.

Manner of Taking
•	 You must carry your hunting license and tur-

key permit while you hunt. 
•	 You may hunt with a bow or crossbow.
•	 You may hunt with a shotgun or handgun only

when using shot no larger than #2 and no
smaller than #8.

•	 You may not take a turkey with a rifle or with
a handgun firing a bullet. 

•	 You may use a muzzleloading shotgun.
•	 You may not hunt with a dog during the spring 

season. You may hunt with a dog during the
fall season. 

•	 You may not use bait to hunt turkey.
•	 You may not use an electronic calling or ampli-

fying device to locate or hunt turkeys during
the open season. 

•	 You may use decoys.
•	 A scope of any type is allowed.

Tagging and 
Possession
•	 Immediately after taking a wild turkey, you

must fill out the appropriate carcass tag in
ink, mark or cut out the date and month of
kill, sign the back, and attach it to the carcass. 

•	 The carcass tag must stay attached to the
turkey carcass until it is prepared for eating. 

•	 You may give your turkey to another person.
•	 You must attach a tag with the following infor-

mation to the turkey carcass:
»» Your name
»» Your address
»» Your hunting license number
»» Turkey permit carcass tag number
»» The recipient’s name
»» The recipient’s address

•	 You must report your harvest within 7 days
via phone (1-866-GAMERPT) or online
(www.dec.ny.gov).

Turkey Hunting

Reward 
Protect wild turkeys against illegal hunting. Their future depends on you!

The National Wild Turkey Federation is offering a $200 reward to anyone giving infor-
mation and testimony leading to the arrest and conviction of anyone illegally hunting 
or killing a wild turkey in the State of New York.

1-844-DEC-ECOS

Turkey Hunters 
Needed for 
Grouse Survey
DEC is seeking spring turkey hunters 
to participate in a survey to help moni-
tor grouse populations. 

For more information:

•	 E-mail us at wildlife@dec.ny.gov
and type “Grouse Drumming Sur-
vey” in the subject line, or 

•	 Call 518-402-8883, or

•	 Visit www.dec.ny.gov and search 
for "drumming survey."
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Turkey Hunting

Subscribe now to Conservationist and save!
•Your guide to New York hunting, wildlife, outdoors and more.
• Order your FREE issue now!  Seven issues for only $12.
Name: _____________________________________________________________

Address: ___________________________________________________________

City/State/Zip: _______________________________________________________

www.TheConservationist.org or call 800-678-6399 and mention code J13HR
Or mail this coupon to: Conservationist, PO BOX 1500, LATHAM, NY 12110 
If you are not satis� ed, return the bill marked “cancel” and you will owe nothing.

FREE
issue!

Fall Turkey Season
•	 You may take a bird of either sex.
•	 There is one carcass tag for the fall season

and it may be used in any fall turkey hunting
zone. Immediately after taking a turkey, you
must fill out the carcass tag in ink and attach 
it to the bird. 

•	 If you take a turkey, save one of its legs. You
will receive instructions about what to do with 
the leg when you report your harvest. The legs 
are used for age and sex information. 

Spring Turkey Season
•	 In the spring, you may take two bearded birds.

You may only take one bird per day. 
•	 Fill out the carcass tag and attach it to the bird.
•	 You do not need to save and send in turkey

legs in the spring. You do need to take careful 
spur, beard, and weight measurements for
harvest reporting. 

1.	 Spur measurements: Spurs should be 
measured from the tip of the spur to the 
base of the spur, where it emerges from 
the scaly part of the leg. Measure to the 
nearest ¼ inch. Do not measure to the 
forward edge of the leg, only to the base 
of the spur. 

2.	Beard measurements: Beards should 
be measured from the tip of the beard 
to the base, where it emerges from the 
skin. Put the end of your ruler against the 
base of the beard and extend the beard 
along the body of the ruler. Measure to 
the nearest ¼ inch. 

3.	Record the weight of the turkey to the 
nearest pound. 
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Season Dates 2016
Oct. 1–Oct. 14

Oct. 15–Oct. 28

Nov. 19–Dec. 2

Spring Turkey Season  
(no map)
Hunting Hours
One half-hour before sunrise to noon
Area Open
All of upstate New York north of the 
Bronx-Westchester County boundary
Season Dates
May 1–May 31
Season Bag Limits
Two bearded turkeys (one bird per day)

Spring Youth Hunt
Season Dates
April 22–23, 2017
Area Open
Same as regular spring season �plus 
Suffolk County (WMU 1C)
Eligible Hunters
Youth 12–15 years of age
Bag Limit
One bearded turkey

Fall Turkey Season
Hunting Hours: Sunrise to Sunset
Season Bag Limit: 1 bird, either sex
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Spring Youth Hunt
Eligible hunters are 12–15 years of age and hold 
a Junior Hunting License and a Turkey Permit. 

All youth hunters must be accompanied by 
an adult, as required by law for a Junior Hunting 
License (see pages 36 and 37). 

The accompanying adult must have a current 
hunting license and Turkey Permit. He/she may 
assist the youth hunter (including calling), but 
may not carry a firearm, crossbow or bow, or kill 
or attempt to kill a wild turkey during the youth 
hunt. Crossbows may only be used by licensees 
who are 14 years of age or older.

The bag limit for the youth hunt is one bearded 
bird. This bird becomes part of the youth’s regular 
season bag limit of two bearded birds. A second 
bird may be taken beginning May 1. 

All other wild turkey hunting regulations 
remain in effect. 

Turkey Hunting

Did you know?
…In 2015, DEC Rangers protected the
people using more than 5 million acres 
of state land by walking, snowmobiling 
or paddling 21,800 miles during patrols.

…DEC Forest Rangers venture into 
remote wilderness areas to find lost 
people anytime of the day or night, in 
any condition.

…In 2015, Rangers conducted 178
search missions, 149 rescue missions, 
and 13 recoveries.

www.dec.ny.gov 
518-408-5850

Turkey Hunting Tips 
Successful turkey hunters sit and call. 

Don’t wear red, white, blue or black.

Most turkey hunting injuries happen 
when one hunter stalks another hunter. 
DON’T TRY TO STALK TURKEY!

Assume anything that sounds like a  
turkey is a human (calls, footsteps).

If you see another hunter…

•	 Don’t move, or wave or nod.

•	 Don’t make turkey or animal sounds.

•	 Do speak up clearly, saying “STOP.”

If you see a turkey… 
Be 100% sure of your target and beyond. 
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