PESTICIDE CERTIFICATION
EXAMINATION REGISTRATION FORM
INSTRUCTIONS

STEP 1: COMPLETE SECTION 1, YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION
Write the following in the spaces provided:

* Name: Enter last name, middle initial, and first name as it is recorded at the NYS Department of
Motor Vehicles.

* NYSDMYV Number Required for Exams: A New York State pesticide certification requires a
photograph for all pesticide applicators and technicians. The identification cards are produced by
the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles using the photograph you have on file with
their office. If you do not have a current NYS driver license or non-driver identification card you
must go to a DMV office and obtain a photo image capture. Bring the DMV receipt with the 9-
digit DMV identification number to the exam session.

An applicant may apply for an exemption from submitting to photographic imaging as part of the
pesticide exam process if that applicant provides evidence satisfactory to the New York
Department of Environmental Conservation that taking a photograph would violate the
applicant’s religious beliefs forbidding the making of photographic images. This documentation
must be submitted to the regional office you will be testing in.

« Date of Birth: Enter your date of birth using a 2 digit month, 2 digit day, and 4 digit year.
Example: 01/08/1990.

» Mailing address: PO Box or street address, city, state, and zip code.

 Daytime Phone: Enter a phone number, including area code, where the Department may reach
you during business hours if there are any questions with your application.

» E-Mail (Optional): Provide a valid e-mail address for electronic correspondence. You WILL
continue to receive mailing via the US Postal Service if an e-mail address is entered.

* NYSDEC Pesticide Certification No.: Those applicants that currently hold, or have
previously held, a pesticide certification through the Department enter that number here.

* Felony Information: The Department may deny an application for pesticide certification if the
applicant or certified applicator has been convicted of a felony. Each felony is reviewed on a
case by case basis. If you are interested in obtaining a determination regarding a felony
conviction prior to taking the exam, visit http://www.dec.ny.gov/permits/45618.html for
additional information and instruction. NOTE: There is no refund of your exam fee if your
pesticide certification is denied due to a felony conviction.

STEP 2: COMPLETE SECTION 2, CHOOSE THE EXAM(S) YOU WISH TO TAKE

For each exam session, you can register for either a combination of the core and one
category/subcategory exam or one category/subcategory exam. On occasion, a Regional Office
may be able to accommodate requests for up to two category/subcategory exams. You can inquire
about this possibility when registering for an exam session with the Regional Office. NOTE:
Certified technicians can only hold one category of certification.

» Categories of Certification: A brief description of each category of certification available can
be found on the Department’s website at:
http://www.dec.ny.gov/docs/materials_minerals_pdf/pestcertcat.pdf. For complete category
details refer to NYCRR 325.16 and 325.17 which can be found on the Department’s website at:
http://www.dec.ny.gov/regs/4424.html.

» Exam Fee: The fee for the initial core and category/subcategory exam taken at the same
session is $100.00. The fee for each additional category/subcategory exam is $100.00. Exam fees
must be
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made payable to NYSDEC, in the form of a certified check, bank check, money order or another
form approved by the Regional Office where you will be taking the exam. The exam fee will
NOT be refunded if you fail to attend a scheduled examination session.

* Proof of Eligibility: Your training and/or experience must be documented and verified in order
to be scheduled for an exam. Acceptable documents of eligibility for initial certification include,

but are not limited to, one of the following: Original 30 hour course certificate, Copy of official
College Transcript or Qualification letter (must be on company letterhead, signed by applicant

and supervisor, and notarized). For further detail on acceptable documents of eligibility please
contact your regional DEC office (see below) to speak with a Pesticide Control Specialist.

STEP 3: COMPLETE SECTION 3, CHOOSE THE EXAM LOCATION:

Exams are given by the Department’s regional offices. Please choose the location where you
would like to schedule your exam. It is advised that you contact the appropriate regional office
directly prior to mailing your exam registration form.

NYS DEC Region 1*
SUNY @ Stony Brook
Bureau of Pest Management
50 Circle Road

Stony Brook, NY 11790
(631) 444-0340
Rlpesticides@dec.ny.qgov

NYS DEC Region 2*
Pesticides Unit

Bureau of Pest Management
1 Hunters Point Plaza, 4th Fl
47-40 21st Street

Long Island City, NY 11101
(718) 482-4994

*NOTE: Due to the large volume of applicants for testing in
Regionl and Region 2 ALL applicants MUST call their location of

choice for pre-registration.

NYS DEC Region 5

Bureau of Pest Management
232 Golf Course Road
Warrensburg, NY 12885
(518) 623-1200

NYS DEC Region 8

Bureau of Pest Management
6274 E. Avon-Lima Road
Avon, NY 14414

(585) 226-5424

NYS DEC Region 6

Bureau of Pest Management
317 Washington Street
Watertown, NY 13601
(315) 785-2513

NYS DEC Reg 8 Sub-Office
Bureau of Pest Management
7291 Coon Road

Bath, NY 14810

(607) 776-2165 x 18

STEP 4: CHOOSE THE EXAM DATE AND TIME:

NYS DEC Region 3

Bureau of Pest Management
21 S. Putt Corners Road
New Paltz, NY 12561

(845) 256-3097

NYS DEC Region 4

Bureau of Pest Management
1130 North Westcott Road
Schenectady, NY 12306
(518) 357-2045

NYS DEC Region 7

Bureau of Pest Management
1285 Fisher Ave.

Cortland, NY 13045

(607) 753-3095 x 232

NYS DEC Region 9

Bureau of Pest Management
270 Michigan Ave.

Buffalo, NY 14203

(716) 851-7220

Each regional office maintains their exam schedule independently. Visit the Department’s
website at: http://www.dec.ny.gov/nyspad/?0 to view the exams available and contact the

appropriate regional office (see above) for pre-registration information.

STEP 5: SUBMIT TO DEPARTMENT:

Mail your completed exam registration form, eligibility documentation, and exam fee (payable to
NYSDEC) to the office that you would like to schedule your exam (see regional addresses

above).
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DAY OF EXAM:
Please bring with you:
1. No. 2 pencil and a pen
2. Calculator (non-programmable). Any other type of electronic device will not be allowed.
3. Appropriate Category and Core manuals (Applicators, specifically those testing in
categories 24 or 11, may want the Worker Protection Standard WPS, How To Comply
manual).
4. Government issued driver license or non-driver photo ID.
5. Exams may be graded the same day. Upon successful completion of the exam, please

come prepared with a SECOND check to pay your certification fee**. DO NOT
COMBINE THE FEES INTO ONE PAYMENT.

**Certification Fee: You will be notified of your exam(s) scores through a Pass/Fail Notice.

A certification fee is required before a pesticide certification ID card can be processed. Certification fees
must be made payable to NYSDEC, in the form of a certified check, bank check, money order or another
form approved by the Regional Office where you will be taking the exam.

e . Card
Certification Type Category Cost Term
3A Only
Commercial Applicator or Technician 3B Only $200 | 1year
One category (NOT 3A or 3B)
- $450
Commercial Applicator First category 3 years
Each additional category*** $150
Aquatic Anti-Fouling Paint Applicator 13 $450 | 3 years
Private Applicator (Only/Primary) $25
Private Applicator (Secondary, same farm or Any category $ 5 | Syears
agricultural business)

If you receive your Pass/Fail Notice:

1) at the time of the exam — the certification fee is collected and processed without delay; or

2) after the day of the exam — the certification fee is due upon receipt of the Pass/Fail Notice. In order to
process your certification without delay an expedited Certification Fee Payment Process is available.

Expedited Certification Fee Payment Process: Bring your certification fee to your scheduled exam
session and it will be processed without delay for those applicants that passed the exam(s). Failures will
receive their certification fee payment returned to them with a Pass/Fail Notice in the mail.

If you fail an exam, you must resubmit an Exam Registration Form and exam fee to sign up and/or retake
an exam.

***Adding a Category (only certified applicators can be certified in more than one category). The
certification fee for a commercial applicator adding a category ($150) to an existing certification is
prorated based on the applicators current certification cycle with the maximum certification fee being
$150.00. Contact the Regional Office to determine the amount of your certification fee when adding a
category to your certification.




