NY.gov Portal State Agency Listing Search all of NY.gov
D E C banner
D E C banner

Disclaimer

The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation has added a link to a translation service developed by Microsoft Inc., entitled Bing Translator, as a convenience to visitors to the DEC website who speak languages other than English.

Additional information can be found at DEC's Language Assistance Page.

Heavy Duty Vehicle Idling Laws

New York State Environmental Conservation Law (ECL) prohibits heavy duty vehicles, including diesel trucks and buses, from idling for more than five minutes at a time.

Exceptions are when your vehicle is:

  • Stuck in traffic
  • Idling for maintenance purposes
  • Powering an auxiliary function or apparatus, such as a concrete tumbler
  • Involved in an emergency situation
  • A diesel fueled truck operating in an ambient air temperature below 25°F for more than 2 hours

Less idling time is good for the environment because it reduces air pollution, noise and fuel use. It also saves money for diesel operators and consumers and contributes to a cleaner atmosphere.

The diesel idling regulation is found in Title 6 NYCRR, Subpart 217-3 and will be enforced by DEC Conservation Officers. You may be fined from $500 to $18,000 in the case of a first violation.

No matter what kind of vehicle you drive, remember to:

  • Drive at the speed limit
  • Avoid sudden stops or starts
  • Resist topping off the fuel tank
  • Check tire pressure monthly
  • Keep your vehicle well-maintained

Remember, only five consecutive minutes of idling are allowed. Your lungs will thank you for it.