Fact Sheet for New Vehicle Sales
6 NYCRR Part 218, Emissions Standards for Motor Vehicles & Motor Vehicle Engines
New York State adopted California's Low Emission Vehicle (LEV) program in 1990 with implementation beginning with applicable model year 1993 vehicles. New York has the authority to adopt the LEV standards pursuant to Section 177 of the federal Clean Air Act and the New York State Environmental Conservation Law.
The Department of Environmental Conservation (Department) implemented New York's LEV regulations under 6 NYCRR Part 218. These regulations apply to new on-road motor vehicles delivered for sale in New York State. A new motor vehicle is defined by regulation as having less than 7,500 miles. Part 218 applies to the following on-road vehicle types:
- All model year 1993, 1994, 1996 and newer passenger cars and light-duty trucks less than 8,500 lbs. GVWR;
- All model year 2004 and newer medium-duty vehicles from 8,501-14,000 lbs. GVWR;
- All model year 2005 and newer heavy-duty Otto-cycle (i.e., gasoline) greater or equal to 14,000 lbs. GVWR; and
- All 2005 through 2007 model-year heavy-duty diesel engines (or vehicles which use such engines) greater or equal to 14,000 lbs. GVWR offered for sale or lease, or sold, or leased, for registration in New York State.
New vehicles subject to the regulation must be certified to either California emission standards or federally certified "50 State" vehicle emission standards when offered for sale within New York State. Emissions certification information can be found on each vehicle's Vehicle Emission Control Information (VECI) label. Examples of a California certification and a federal "50 State" vehicle VECIs are:
Sample VECI Label - California and EPA (50 State) Standards
Sample VECI Label - California Standards Only
The Department periodically conducts audits of new vehicle dealerships to ensure that new vehicles meet the certification requirements. Violations of Part 218 are subject to fines of $500 for a first violation, and $1,000 for each subsequent violation. Common violations identified during the Department's audits include the sale, lease and/or dealer registration of non-compliant vehicles.
Note that non-compliant federally certified vehicles (i.e., not a "50 State" vehicle) may be sold wholesale instate, or wholesale or retail in another state, without violating Part 218.
6 NYCRR Part 252, Environmental Performance Labels
New York State regulation 6 NYCRR Part 252 requires that global warming index labels be affixed to new vehicles delivered for sale in New York State beginning with the 2010 model year. The environmental performance label is provided by the vehicle manufacturer, and it is specific to each vehicle based on Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). The label should not be removed from the new vehicle until the consumer takes final delivery.
Environmental performance labels are required to be 4 inches by 6 inches if used as a stand-alone label, or 2.5 inches by 4.5 inches if incorporated into the "Monroney sticker." Example labels are provided below.
Sample Environmental Performance Label
Sample Monroney Sticker with Environmental Performance Information
The Department conducts audits of new vehicle dealerships to ensure compliance with the Part 252 labeling requirements. Violations are subject to fines of $500 for a first violation, and $1,000 for each subsequent violation. The most common violations identified during the Department's audits include the absence of an environmental performance label when the vehicle is offered for sale, or posting of an incorrect label (they are VIN specific label) on a particular vehicle. Typically, these errors occur when dealership personnel remove the environmental performance labels when detailing the vehicle.
Any questions related to compliance with Part 218 or 252 regulations should be directed to:
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
Division of Air Resources
Bureau of Mobile Sources
Albany, New York 12233-3255
Telephone: (518) 402-8292