Department of Environmental Conservation

D E C banner

Designation Recommendation for the 2010 Sulfur Dioxide NAAQS - Round 2

The following is the content of a letter sent to the Regional Administrator at the USEPA, Region 2, Judith A. Enck. The letter was signed on January 4, 2017 by Basil Seggos, Commissioner.

On behalf of the Governor of the State of New York, I am submitting for consideration by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) the "Revised Designation Recommendation for Sulfur Dioxide: Statewide (With the Exception of Erie, Niagara, Seneca, St. Lawrence and Tompkins Counties): 2010 Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard: January 2017." (PDF 3.37 MB, 99 pgs)

DEC is recommending that EPA designate the entire State of New York, with the exception of Erie, Niagara, Seneca, St. Lawrence and Tompkins Counties, as in attainment of the 2010 sulfur dioxide (SO2) National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS). EPA has already designated Erie and Niagara Counties as "unclassifiable/attainment"; and Seneca, St. Lawrence and Tompkins Counties will be designated by December 31, 2020 using air quality data from newly installed monitors.

This revised designation recommendation pertains to the second round of designations for the 2010 primary SO2 NAAQS to be completed by EPA no later than December 31, 2017 pursuant to the Consent Decree approved by the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California on March 2, 2015. It was developed using the March 20, 2015 EPA Memorandum entitled "Updated Guidance for Area Designations for the 2010 Primary Sulfur Dioxide National Ambient Air Quality Standard" and the July 22, 2016 EPA Memorandum entitled "Area Designations for the 2010 Primary Sulfur Dioxide National Ambient Air Quality Standard - Round 3."

This revised designation recommendation also satisfies New York's June 20, 2016 commitment to characterize air quality around several sources in New York State using the air quality modeling approach pursuant to requirements of EPA's Data Requirements Rule (80 FR 51052).

Should you have any questions regarding this submission, please do not hesitate to contact Mr. Steven Flint, Director of the Department's Division of Air Resources at (518) 402-8452 with any questions you may have.

  • PDF Help
  • For help with PDFs on this page, please call 518-402-8396.
  • Contact for this Page
    Division of Air Resources
    SIP Planning
    625 Broadway
    Albany, NY 12233-3251
    Send us an email
  • This Page Covers
  • Page applies to all NYS regions